Skip navigation

I can remember when I was younger and I frowned upon anything old or worn. As I have gotten older, I cherish old, vintage, worn, aged (whatever you want to call them) items.

I have used some vintage lace in some of my jewelry designs for accents but decided to make them the main component. I call this project, “faux gilded” because instead of dipping the lace in gold or silver metal, I used some craft supplies.

I cut the lace in various shapes depending on the size or pattern, painted them with metallic acrylic paint in gold and silver tones, and coated them with Mod Podge for added stiffness. After they dried, they took on a life of their own becoming bracelets, earrings, necklaces and rings. I embellished them with ribbon or beads. I love how the paint brought out even more of the detail of the lace designs.

BTW: The term “gild the lily” means to apply unnecessary ornament;  to over embellish.

Contrary to popular belief, Shakespeare did not coin the term “gild the lily”. Below is the quote by Salisbury from King John, 1595:

Therefore, to be possess’d with double pomp,
To guard a title that was rich before,
To gild refined gold, to paint the lily,
To throw a perfume on the violet,
To smooth the ice, or add another hue
Unto the rainbow, or with taper-light
To seek the beauteous eye of heaven to garnish,
Is wasteful and ridiculous excess.

‘Gild the lily’ doesn’t appear in the original quotation. The term “paint the lily” was used in the 20th century, with the same meaning we now apply to “gild the lily”. Clearly, this is the correct quotation. The two versions coexisted for a time but “gild the lily” became the much more popular one.

I thought this an apt description considering that the vintage lace has such a beauty on its own…but I do like the extra embellishment.

"Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” Mark Twain

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 144 other followers

