Skip navigation

Autumn Necklace and Earring Set

I was thinking this week, the week of Thanksgiving, about gratitude. Personally, I have so many things to be grateful for but what about what I am grateful for in creating jewelry.

So here is a list of some of the things I am grateful for in my creative life.

1. When I finally find a match for the focal bead that I purchased 2-3 years ago because I loved it but could never find other beads that did it justice.

2. When I cut just the right about of wire when I am wire wrapping beads…not too short nor too long…either way it is wasting wire because if too short, I have to repeat the process, too long and I am not able to use the smaller remaining piece. Measure twice…cut once.

3. When the creative juices are flowing and I can make one design after another and am thrilled with the results.

4. Going to the bead store or bead trunk show or antique market or anywhere where beads are sold and getting quality, unique beads at a fair price.

5. Trying a new technique and not being totally frustrated because it does not turn out as I would like (aka perfect). Most of jewelry making is practice, practice, practice until you perfect that technique.

6. Good lighting! Especially natural light coming in from a window.

7. Wearing a  new jewelry design and not only having others notice and compliment me on it but also having someone purchase it right off my neck, ears, arm, etc.

8. The ability to use beads, wire, leather, ribbon, vintage jewelry parts, buttons, glass, solder, etc., etc. to create a one-of-a-kind piece of jewelry.

9. Having the person that I love support me and assist with any arts/craft show I may be doing. It takes a lot of work before, during, and after to do those shows.

10. All of the wonderful people that I have met through my years of jewelry designing and selling, whether fellow artists or customers, that I would not have met otherwise were it not for this endeavor.

Happy Thanksgiving!

"Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” Mark Twain

