Skip navigation

Vintage Bonwit Teller Jacket (front)

Okay, I have a confession to make. My favorite shopping place lately is not exactly a retail store per say. It is what is called a “thrift store”. Locally, we have two Goodwill locations that I frequent. This is the key to finding bargains and selection is to go often. I found out recently they now have an online shopping site too – www.shopgoodwill.com

I have recently scored some really unique clothing/accessories for myself. I even found a cool vintage leather and suede purse for my son’s girlfriend. She is into vintage fashion, especially the mod style of dress that was popular in the 60’s which I think this purse will fit in well with.

I found a great vintage jacket for me as well. It appears to be a wool and is fitted with three quarter length sleeves. It does not have a tag with materials or care instructions but it does have the original “Bonwit Teller”  label as well as an “Oscar Beverly Hills” label,  which I guess is the designer.   Bonwit Teller & Co. was a department store  in New York City founded by Paul Bonwit in 1895 at Sixth Avenue and 18th Street. In 1897 Edmund D. Teller was admitted to the partnership and the store moved to 23rd Street, East of Sixth Avenue. Bonwit specialized in high-end women’s apparel.  The store was relocated many times and ownership changed hands. Eventually, other locations were opened.  It eventually closed in 1990.

Another intersting tidbit;  artist Andy Warhol designed window displays for Bonwit Teller.

Bonwit Teller

Bonwit Teller ad from Vogue 1963

Vintage Bonwit Teller Jacket (back)

One Comment

  1. i love thrift shopping. glad you found some cool things 🙂


"Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” Mark Twain

