Skip navigation

I had my first chance to try out my new leather jacket that I puchased on vacation in Italy. We set out Sunday for a relatively short ride, about 100 miles round trip. The weather was overcast with the sun peeking out occasionally and the temps in the mid 70s. I am very cold-senstive, so I started with a tee, then layered on a scarf, the leather jacket along with jeans and riding boots. I was cozy warm and the jacket kept the wind out. We stopped at a nearby park to stretch out and enjoy nature by the Red River. There were two butterflies feasting on the mimosa tree we sat underneath. One was one of the largest monarch’s I have ever seen. It was a nice place to relax before heading home.

With just six weeks away from our annual long distance trip, I need to get my “sea” er “motorcyle” legs, so frequent riding is a must from now until then.

Ride Like The Wind
Songwriter: Christopher Cross

It is the night, my body’s weak
I’m on the run, no time for sleep
I’ve got to ride, ride like the wind
To be free again

And I’ve got such a long way to go
(Such a long way to go)
To make it to the border of Mexico
So I’ll ride like the wind
Ride like the wind

I was born the son of a lawless man
Always spoke my mind
With a gun in my hand
Lived nine lives, gunned down ten
Gonna ride like the wind

And I’ve got such a long way to go
(Such a long way to go)
To make it to the border of Mexico
So I’ll ride like the wind, ride like the wind
Gonna ride the wind

Accused and tried and told to hang
I was nowhere in sight
When the church bells rang
Never was the kind to do as I was told
Gonna ride like the wind before I get old

It is the night, my body’s weak
I’m on the run, no time for sleep
I’ve got to ride, ride like the wind
To be free again

And I’ve got such a long way to go
(Such a long way to go)
To make it to the border of Mexico
So I’ll ride like the wind
Ride like the wind

And I’ve a long way to go
(Such a long way to go)
To make it to the border of Mexico
So I’ll ride like the wind, ride like the wind
Gonna ride the wind

Ride, ride like the wind
Ride

"Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” Mark Twain

