Skip navigation

I found my thrill, on blueberry hill…well maybe it wasn’t quite a hill but it was in a blueberry orchard. It is summertime and the blueberries are ripe for the picking, so I set out Saturday morning to go to a local “pick you own” farm.  Little Eden Orchards is located off of Hyw. 165 N., north of Pollock, LA. You can pick muscadines and mayhaws here when in season as well.

You can’t beat this fresh off the bush taste and it is hard not to gobble them up while picking. I picked extra for my dad who loves them in cereal. They freeze really well so you can have fresh blueberries all year long.

When I returned home, I washed and dried the berries well and put most of them in sealed bags in the freezer…but not until I made two recipes. One was a simple cobbler and the other was an easy jam recipe that keeps in the fridge for a month – I doubt it will last that long.


The biscuits are not homemade but the jam is!

In my search for blueberry recipes I came across this one for a salad that I made on Sunday. I used blueberry vinegar that I had made from last year’s crop in the dressing. Also, I added homegrown tomatoes, bell peppers, and cukes along with thinly sliced roast beef to make it a complete meal.

Blueberry Spinach Salad

Makes 6 servings

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/4 cup raspberry vinegar

2 teaspoons Dijon mustard

1 teaspoon sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 (10 ounce) package fresh spinach, torn

1 (4 ounce) package blue cheese, crumbled

1 cup fresh blueberries

1/2 cup chopped pecans, toasted

In a jar with a tight-fitting lid, combine the first five ingredients and shake well. In a large salad bowl, toss the spinach, blue cheese, blueberries and pecans. Add dressing and toss gently; serve immediately.

Blueberry Hill

as written by Vincent Rose, Larry Stock, Al Lewis/ Lyrics © Warner/Chappell Music, Inc.

I found my thrill
On Blueberry Hill
On Blueberry Hill
When I found you

The moon stood still
On Blueberry Hill
And lingered until
My dream came true

The wind in the willow played
Love’s sweet melody
But all of those vows you made
Were never to be

Though we’re apart
You’re part of me still
For you were my thrill
On Blueberry Hill

The wind in the willow played
Love’s sweet melody
But all of those vows you made
Were never to be

Though we’re apart
You’re part of me still
For you were my thrill
On Blueberry Hill

"Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” Mark Twain

