Skip navigation

My jewelry designs took a lot of twists and turns in 2012, both literally and figuratively. I experimented with a multitude of new media from lace to leather.

Due to the increase in cost of sterling silver and gold-filled wire, I decided to try artistic and craft wire for making earrings and other findings. Since these come in such a wide array of colors, it was fun to mix metallic tones such as hematite, brass, and copper. I was able to twist and hammer the wire, without having to worry so much about the cost if something did not go as planned. Also, I tried my hand at stamping on metal and leather to make custom pieces with monograms, symbols, etc.

Other materials used were vintage lace and leather that I faux metallized by using metallic paints. I really love the way these designs developed. Many non jewelry components such as porcupine quills, spent bullet casings, ribbon and other textiles and of course my favorite, feathers, were used as well.

I am excited for 2013 to see where my designs will go from here and am always ready to be inspired by other jewelry artists, fashion trends, or whatever collected/discarded natural element, stone, or ephemera comes my way.

One Comment

  1. Reblogged this on Bag Lady Boutique.


"Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” Mark Twain

